About Us

Viking Library System is a federated with central services regional public library system serving the six west central Minnesota counties of Douglas, Grant, Otter Tail, Pope, Stevens and Traverse. First organized in 1975, it has eleven member libraries located in Alexandria, Browns Valley, Elbow Lake, Fergus Falls, Glenwood, Hancock, Morris, New York Mills, Pelican Rapids, Perham, and Wheaton.

VLS is one of four regional public library systems in Minnesota that is identified as a combination system. Combination systems have independent member libraries and also offer direct services to the public. Although local public libraries are members of the regional system, these independent city and county libraries retain local governance, seek local funding, hire local staff and determine local library expenditures. The regional library system both provides services to its member libraries and also receives county funds to provide direct services to the public in areas primarily outside of the member library communities. The system board is responsible for both region-wide services to the member libraries and for library services delivered directly to the public.

Viking Library System will connect, promote, and strengthen public library services in west central Minnesota.

Vision--providing local access to the world
Viking Library System is a dynamic organization connecting our users and our member libraries to the world. In addition to continuing to provide the highest quality traditional library services, Viking Library System will serve as a catalyst for change in the following ways:

Viking Library System will

  • be a leader in customer responsiveness.
  • strive to increase the visibility of all services.
  • remain attuned to the future by responding appropriately to new technology.
  • seek to continuously improve all services by identifying and responding to both general and targeted audiences within the regional system.